Criteria, Biomarkers, Etc. (PRA 2016)

Initially, I hesitated to accept this assignment as the topic was quite broad. Unlike other conventions talks, there was no specific condition that came with this. And I was at a lost on what to talk about – arthritis, vasculitis (which wasn’t covered in PRA 2016), fibromylagia, osteoporosis, etc. As what had happened with similar topics in the past, the danger lies in how deep and extensive the discussion would be given that I had only 30 minutes. But then, as I’ve learned with past talks, providing just enough information to stimulate further discussion – whether on-stage (heaven forbid!) or on-the-sides – is the key. Hopefully, I got the message across clearly and convinced those listening that rheumatology is really interesting.

I thank the organizers for the opportunity – and thank you also for trusting me with this topic. I consider the assignment a blessing of sorts.

Leave a Reply

